Kwahu Rural Bank Limited with its Headquarters at Pepease, Kwahu East District was the first Rural Bank to be established in the Kwahu Traditional area, the third in the Eastern Region and the 13th in the country. It was incorporated under the   Companies code 1963(Act 179) and licensed by Bank of Ghana under the Banking Act 1963 (Act 339).

The Kwahu Rural Bank was opened for banking operations on 5th August 1980, with its Headquarters at Pepease – Kwahu which is about 15 Kilometers from Mpraeso the capital of Kwahu South District and about 25 Kilometers from Nkawkaw, the capital of Kwahu West Municipal Assembly.

The name KWAHU is the name of the whole traditional area where the Bank is located. The promoters of the Bank settled for a name that every person in the traditional area could easily and willingly identify with. It was chosen to enable everyone associate him/herself with the Bank.

Kwahu Rural Bank Ltd. has a Head Office,seven ( 7 ) Agencies at Pepease ,Bepong,Mpraeso, Nkawkaw, Kwahu Tafo,  New Abirem, Koforidua and a mobilization Centre at the Nkawkaw Market Square.